Memory Unit

Memory Unit

Computer data is in what is called binary format. This means that it is always a 0 or a 1. It only has these two states and must be in one of them.
There are several fundamental data units which include:
Bit: A data unit which must be in one of the two binary states described above. It is the smallest data unit that exists.
Byte: 8 bits of data which has a possible value from 0 to 255.
8 bit (1/0) : 1 Byte [1 character]

1024 bytes : 1 kilobyte

1024 KB : 1 megabyte

1024 MB : 1 Gigabyte

1024 GB : 1 Terabyte.

Scroll to Top